CAPTAIN AHAB 'the end of irony' cd
CAPTAIN AHAB 'the end of irony' cd

CAPTAIN AHAB 'the end of irony' cd

Regular price
Sold out
Sale price

10 overstock copies added (1 remaining)

Jonathan Snipes' rave-punk project from before Clipping.


For far too long we have loved things in the name of "guilty pleasures." What is, and what is not cool can be so fickle. To protect ourselves, we have reinvented irony to serve as a silly suit of armor that says: "I'm just kidding around, so don't get all judgy-pants on me." Of course, this type of behavior just made accusations of hipster-ness fly off the handle. When it really comes down to it though, we all know that having fun shouldn't be a crime. That is why Captain Ahab has declared The End of Irony. In fact, that's what their fucking new album is called! It's called The End of Irony.
Do you love Powermetal even though it is just for thirtysomething LARPers? Well, good for you! Shout it to the sky! Do you like shaking your ass to some Electro-Clash even though your neighbor scoffs because you forgot it's called Nu-Rave now. Well fuck names! Do you want to cuddle in the morning sunlight to some 70's Soft Rock, but your sweetie-pie thinks you're making fun of him/her? Dude, making love is awesome, and sometimes being sappy isn't a bad thing! Captain Ahab knows how you feel. They love all these criminalized sounds and many more, and they combine them in a way that irony would never permit. There is serious commitment going on here. Commitment to making epic songs that defy expectation, trends, and any sort of cool-factor. But we're not talking about some lazy mash-up album, here. They have composed these songs from scratch. The album creates a meticulous and sweeping cosmology that would satisfy even the headiest of 70's prog heshers. Captain Ahab is fucking committed to freeing your soul! No short cuts on this album. Is that a live guitar player? Yeah, duh! Every band has one of those. So what do you think of this live orchestra then? How about this master sitar player flown out from India to play in a room next to a guy with a modular synthesizer the size of the WOPR. These songs are the real deal, passionate and unafraid. They're the result of Captain Ahab's dedication to their audience. If you are ready to be set free, then your lucky day has come. All you need to do is LISTEN!

CD Tracklisting:
1. Acting Hard
2. The Calm Before the Sword
3. Death to False Techno
4. I Don't Have a Dick
5. How 2 Party
6. Feel Anymore
7. Kill Me
8. Godlike
9. The Loneliest Man
10. With My Own Two Hands


Side A:
1. Acting Hard
2. The Calm Before the Sword (edit)

Side B:
1. I Don't Have a Dick (edit)
2. Under Your Bones
3. Start the Party

Side C:
1. Feel Anymore (edit)
2. Kill Me (edit)
3. Get Fucked in the Club

Side D:
1. Godlike
2. With My Own Two Hands (club mix)


Please note, vinyl jackets are in poor condition, but the records are guaranteed to play perfectly.